35 days of BL manga! – Day 25: A non-BL series that you wish was BL

What can I say? It had to be Banana Fish. There are a lot of implications in this story and some might say this is shounen-ai…but seriously, it is not. I wish it were, with all my heart. Most of the times I don’t feel like pairing random characters around if I’m not reading/watching BL. Sometimes it happens because…well, there are a lot of hints around (yes Saraiya Goyou, I’m talking about you).

BF

I never wished more for a manga to become BL as I did with this one. There is a certain detail here that doesn’t let us imagine it could happen at all unless the story changed. Oh well, at least I can keep my IchixMasa fantasies alive…

Summary:

Nature made Ash Lynx beautiful; nurture made him a cold ruthless killer. A runaway brought up as the adopted heir and sex toy of “Papa” Dino Golzine, Ash, now at the rebellious age of seventeen, forsakes the kingdom held out by the devil who raised him. But the hideous secret that drove Ash’s older brother mad in Vietnam has suddenly fallen into Papa’s insatiably ambitious hands–and it’s exactly the wrong time for Eiji Okamura, a pure-hearted young photographer from Japan, to make Ash Lynx’s acquaintance… (Viz)

Banana Fish is an old school shoujo created by Yoshida Akimi, packed with a lot of action and drama; a completely gripping and amazing story that has you in the edge of your chair for the whole 19 volumes. A long journey that manages to make you laugh, love and cry, as you could never imagine. I admit I had some problems at first with the art, but that was soon forgotten when hell broke loose and I just couldn’t stop reading it.

Originally published by Shogakukan in 1986: Volume 1

Licensed in English by Viz Media (C): Volulme 1

3 responses to “35 days of BL manga! – Day 25: A non-BL series that you wish was BL

  1. ❤ ❤ Could you imagine the drama that would ensue with Ash trying to have a meaningful sexual relationship after all the *negative* experiences he had before? Could be interesting, but my little brain had a hard time wrapping itself around those possibilities (but it sure tried!).

    I must say I'd like to see Chigusa get some REAL sexy time~ I'm not sure I could handle that!

    • Ok, you got all my interest here haha. I can imagine the drama but I guess Eiji would get the lead there, after all he is the more sane of the two. I would be heartbreaking…Oh, now I want to cry…

      Thanks for mentioning Chigusa so I could forget the feeling :D. Hmmm but I thought SD was shounen-ai at least. My my, Chigusa real sexy time sounds really tempting, isn’t there a good DJ about that?

      I might be day dreaming right now.

      • Well, it’s that shoujo-BL hybrid where they are obviously compatible in many ways but there’s no physical manifestation of that in any way. Even though there’s a lot of teasing, there’s really no… “sealing the deal.” I’d love to see a dj of that~ I’ve not really seen.. well any dj for Silver Diamond. I’d likely not be able to handle Chigust sexin’ it up anyway ❤

Leave a Reply

